The Overtones Good Ol’ Fashioned Love at the London Palladium Review

The Overtones (Photo credit to theovertones.tv)

The Overtones are a five part vocal harmony group made up of Mark Franks, Mike Crawshaw, Darren Everest, Timmy Matley and Lachie Chapman. I have had their album Good Ol’ Fashioned Love since it came out in November last year so when I heard that their tour was reaching London, it was a no-brainer about me going! The album has recently gone platinum which must feel great for the band with all of their hard work to get where they are now. They gigged everywhere and sent many demo tapes out. Their hard work was rewarded with a five album recording contract.  Fast forward to present times and they’re coming to the end of an amazing  tour, with talks of another tour in progress. They have been all over the place on television, even being the house-band for the immensely popular Dancing On Ice on ITV1.

The Overtones had Sam Gray as a special guest. I hadn’t heard of Sam before, but I’m glad I now have (his album is wonderful- I got my copy last night at the concert). He had an amazing voice, catchy songs and can play guitar brilliantly. Definitely one to watch out for.

The Overtones came on around half past eight full of energy and if I’m honest, they looked quite overwhelmed with the response from the sell out London Palladium audience.  The set list was packed full of hits from the album that included Gambling Man, Come Back My Love, Have I Told You Lately That I Love You, Carolyn, Good Ol’ Fashioned Love, Say What I Feel, Blue Moon, Only Girl (In The World), In The Still Of The Night, I Need A Dollar, The Longest time, Forget You, Sh-Boom, Beggin’, We Can Work It Out, Whoops, Goodnight Sweetheart Goodnight, Second Last Chance, Why do Fools Fall In Love and a rendition of the Spice Girls (!) Who Do You Think You Are?

They were very charismatic on stage and their personalities really seemed to come across. One thing that struck me was how appreciative they are of their fans which is lovely to see. They had a natural ease with each other and their band (Ricci Riccardi, Louis Riccardi, Johnny Dyke, Dave Troke) and also the audience between songs.  The banter between the band was brilliant, they clearly get on well. Another thing I like about The Overtones is although Timmy and Lachie sing the majority of the songs the other band members get chance to shine.  I love how they can sing popular songs but still give it that Overtone feel. The classic doo-wop. The audience were treated to some beautiful vocals and stunning harmonies with some some sharp choreography in the routines. I thought it was a nice touch when the band came out into the audience (on all levels) to sing a track. They didn’t seem phased by fans coming up to them and putting their arms around them!

My favourite moments/songs were Gambling Man, Blue Moon (lovely to hear them all have a solo section), the acoustic set and the gorgeous stripped back Goodnight Sweetheart, Goodnight.

All in all, I had a fantastic time at the Palladium. The smile never left my face and I never imagined myself up and dancing in the audience at the London Palladium. The Overtones are great entertainers and are clearly passionate about the music that they are making. Long may it continue!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 308 other followers

